Black Mass

Starring:Johnny Depp,Benedict Cumberbatch,Dakota Johnson,Joel Edgerton,Kevin Bacon,Rory Cochrane

Based on:Black Mass by Dick Lehr and Gerard O’Nei

Directed by:Scott Cooper

Am i the only one who thinks,that this movie is one of the best gangster movies ever?

Say i’m the only one.I will blow your brains out…Oh sorry i’m influenced by the movie.

Black mass is a 2015 biographical crime drama-thriller film based on the 2001 book Black Mass: The True Story of an Unholy Alliance Between the FBI and the Irish Mob by Dick Lehr and Gerard O’Neill.The film stars Johnny “fucking” Depp.I mean the real Johnny Depp.Forget the “Johnny Depp” that women used to love because he was sweet in “Edward Scissorhands” and “Charlie and the chocolate factory”.Forget the “Johnny Depp” that kids loved in “Pirates of the Caribbean” because he was funny and in “Alice in wonderland”.This is Johnny “fucking” Depp.The one that women hate because he slapped his wife in “Donnie Brasco”.The one that women hate because he didn’t help his girlfriend in “Public Enemies”.The one that kids don’t know because he is R-Rated.The one that we knew and we loved.He portrays the role of James “Whitey” Bulger ,leader of the Irish-American Winter Hill Gang,who used to control most organized crime within South Boston in 1975.James lives with his wife,Dakota Johnson(Thank God they didn’t let her destroy the movie) and their kid.The film is full with gangster behavior and gangster quotes.That is very obvious especially in the scenes where James talks with his kid.You can see that every advice  that he gives is about the “gangster paradise”.Bulger’s supremacy is challenged by the North End Angiulo Brothers, a rival gang, part of the New England Mafia family.But John Connolly,a child friend of James,becomes an FBI agent and helps James to deal with his rivals.The FBI thinks they have a good “rat” and a good informant.But it turns out that James was telling the secrets of his rivals.That way he was able to enjoy the protection from FBI without being an actual “rat”.Benedict on the other hand portrays the role of William “Billy” Bulger the brother of James and the Massachusetts State Senate President.He seems to be a decent politician,who doesn’t want to become “dirty” like his brother but he always helps him.Even when the FBI starts to look for him.The film is incredibly great.Especially, if you like gangster films.It’s full with blood,assassinations,profanity,blackmail etc.If you haven’t seen it… GO WATCH IT NOW.

PS:I heard that Iran is showing Black Mass in theaters, but for some reason all the scenes with Kevin Bacon are missing!!!!!!

Finally i want to thank Diego ,Jaden C. Kilmer,Debraj Moulick,authormbeyer and Keith Noakes  fot their suggestions.Visit their websites.

As always make suggestions on the comment section about my reviews.Tell me what you didn’t like and what do you want me to improve.If you like my reviews,please follow me and help me to make my site more popular.Also don’t forget to suggest the movie you want me to rate next.            FULLFAZE

                                                                                                                    8.0/10

 

16 thoughts on “Black Mass

  1. Hi. You asked me to comment and I can’t see a contact page (you might want to add that and an About page so people get a better idea of who you are.
    I like the non-nonsense attitude and telling it like it is. The world is full of blogs in which people would have you believe everything was great. Having said that, it is too easy just to do hatchet jobs, so pointing people towards good stuff is worth doing. On my blog, windingroadblog.com, or the film thread anyway, I don’t write as myself, but as a 35-year-old London woman (who shares many of my views) and it gives me a freedom I don’t feel when I’m being me. “She” has only dissed one film – The Shawshank Redemption – because there are so many films I love and want to tell people about.
    it’s good that you’re blogging because you have something to say, so good luck.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your comments. I don’t have a contact page because I think it’s easier for the viewers to use the comment section. I read all the comments. If you like my reviews please follow me because I will publish more reviews and I don’t want you to miss them. I would be grateful if you did that.

      Like

  2. While I enjoyed the film, I don’t think it will go down as a classic. Maybe 20 years from now, opinions could change. But currently I think it was a mixed bag.
    Johnny Depp was awesome, as usual. He totally owned the character. I don’t know whether you know this or not, but Jack Nicholson’s character in The Departed was based on Whitey Bulger. That was more a caricature but here the menace is complete.
    I also think his elder brother was a crooked politician, at least on the beats the film touches. Helping Whitey grow his empire and saving him, that too being a senator, smacks of nepotism and disregard for law.
    Joel Edgerton was unconvincing, somehow.
    I felt this was more The Untouchables than The Godfather films or Goodfellas.

    A fine review, nonetheless. Happy blogging. God bless. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes but Jack Nicholson approaches his character in a different level. He wants to show the craziness of James.Johnny on the other hand is trying to show his intelligence,his origins and that even a criminal has an ethical code. Finally about Benedict’s character I probably didn’t make it clear. I wanted to say that on the surface he was clear and you can see in certain parts of the film that when there are people around he doesn’t want to talk to James. Also when James talks about his plans he is always afraid that he goes too far. But we later find out that he is “dirty” too. Thank you for viewing my site. If you like it I would be grateful if you follow mw

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey you asked me to give comments, honestly I read some of your reviews and they are pretty good. I myself just started blogging recently, but I think you’re doing pretty good. Like this review here, you have a good tone going for you and you stick with it. This blog is doing pretty good, keep doing you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Giuliano. Thank you so much for spending some time to read my reviews and for your comment. If you really like my website please follow me. I will publish more reviews and I don’t want you to miss them. I would be really grateful if you did that.

      Like

  4. I liked it. I can’t say it’s the best gangster film ever. Goodfellas, the Departed and of course the Godfather come to mind.

    The film had some challenges – number 1, it was based on a true crime book and thus it kind of came across as more of a documentary (whereas in fiction you’d have twists etc) and 2) it was hard to make Whitey Bulger likable. Michael Corleone, Tony Soprano, bad guys but the writers at least got across to the viewer why they did what they did. Whitey on the other hand was pretty much a psychopath without much in the way of redeeming qualities.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree with you. I will make a review about Godfather ,probably next week, and you will see that I will rate it higher. Thanks for checking out my blog. Although, I made a few changes today on my website and I would love to hear your comments about it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

